BOCES home
program home

Mission Statement

The mission of the Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES School Library System Council is to work collaboratively to advise the School Library System in the development, promotion, and improvement of library information services for all members.


Sections 90.18 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education

"(2) School library system council. (i) Each school library system shall have a school library system council, which shall meet at least four times a year. Such school library system council shall be composed of at least nine members, and shall include representatives of the members in the school library system and other representatives of providers and users of library services in the school library system. The plan of services shall specify the method of appointment of the school library system council. The school library system council members shall serve three-year terms, provided that first members of each school library system council shall be appointed for terms of from one to three years so that, as nearly as possible, one third of the members of council shall thereafter be appointed each year. A vacancy on the school library system council shall be filled by the governing board for the duration of the term of the individual whose seat on the council is to be filled. Members shall serve without compensation."

"(ii) The governing board and the council shall be responsible for development of the plan of service. Upon approval by the council, the governing board shall submit the plan to the commissioner for approval. After approval by the commissioner, it shall be the responsibility of the governing board and the council to monitor the implementation of the plan of service."

Council Representatives:

Cathy Mangan, School Library Media Specialist
Fred W. Hill Elementary School

Julie Case,School Library Media Specialist
Fairbanks Road Elementary School
Gates Chili
Matt Harvey, School Library Media Specialist
Paul Road Elementary School

Rachel Goforth, School Library Media Specialist 
Olympia High School

Angela Boccuzzi Reichert, School Library Media Specialist
Merton Williams Middle School

Lisa Osur, School Library Media Specialist
Holley Jr./Sr. High School

School Library Media Specialist
Kendall Jr./Sr. High School
Kendall Elementary School

Adam Ashworth, School Library Media Specialist
Spencerport High School

Karen Arendt, School Library Media Specialist
T.J. Connor Elementary School

Non-Public & Community Representative
Laura Shea
Northstar Christian Academy 

Rochester Regional Library Council
Laura Osterhout, Member Services Librarian

Monroe County Library System
Tonia Burton

Acedemic Librarian
Jennifer Kegel, SUNY Brockport

BOCES School Library System Director
Jim Belair

BOCES Library Automation
Jane Reeves

BOCES Media Library
Joshua Perks

BOCES SLS Administrative Assistant
Patti Rose