Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes

Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes

Author T. A. Barron founded the Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes in 2001 and named the prize after his mother, a quiet hero in his own life. A long-time advocate of the power of youth, Barron writes about fictional young heroes in his novels, but champions inspiring young people in real life. He is the author of more than 30 highly acclaimed books and the winner of the de Grummond Medallion for “lifetime contribution to the field of children’s and young adult literature,” among other awards.  
The Barron Prize is named after T. A. Barron’s mother, Gloria Barron. An unsung hero, Gloria worked for over twenty years to create a unique nature museum at the Colorado School for the Blind—a museum where everything can be touched. She lived the life of a teacher who cared deeply about her children and her community. Gloria instilled in each of her seven children the idea that one individual can make a lasting difference in the lives of others. 
The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes celebrates inspiring, public-spirited young people from diverse backgrounds all across North America. Each year, the Barron Prize honors 25 outstanding young leaders ages 8 to 18 who have made a significant positive difference to people and the environment.

Applications are available at the beginning of the year and must be submitted using the funder's online system. For additional information on the award and how to apply, visit website (click on Link below). 

» Link to More Info

For Grantwriting/Program Development Assistance:

Grants Office  
Phone: (585) 352-2773
Email: [email protected]

View text-based website